Irish Indoor Bowling Association
Irish Indoor Bowling Association

Short Mat Bowls Serving The Whole Community

Welcome to the web site for the Irish Indoor Bowling Association which is the controlling body for the game of short mat bowls across the island of Ireland. The web site is designed to provide up-to-date information about the IIBA. We hope that you will find the site interesting and informative.

Inter Zone Finals

Boomer Cup Final 3 March


North West v Oriel (Venue to be confirmed)


Ladies Final 24 February


North West v Western (St Swithin’s Magherafelt starting 2.30)


Plate Finals

Foyle claim Ladies Plate with 77 - 33 win over East Antrim.

S Johnstom 9 E Woods 7
S Finlay 15C Rea 8
D Stevenson 11 A Rea 4...
L Hamilton 18 G Peel 4
V Witherow 11 A Weir 5
N Miller 13 A McLaughlin 5


Armagh claim Men’s Plate with narrow win over South Down

Armagh 59 South Down 57
J Beattie 10 K Blakely 10
J Richardson 17 M Grant 6
C Dillon 4 A Johnston 13
A Leckey 14 J Moffat 4
D McDonald 3 M Sproule 18
T Mulholland 11 A Corrigan 6

Terry Mulholland with Plate Shield on behalf of Armagh Zone

Armagh team which defeated South Down in Plate Final


Click link for results (pics in gallery)


Day 1 of the Galway Bay Hotel Irish Club Championship produced a Cookstown double with Cookstown High being crowned Irish Club Champions and Cookstown Parochial winning the Plate Competition. It was a day of surprising results. Parochial suffered a rare first round defeat against All Saints Tullylish who then fell by the wayside against Latton from Monaghan Zone. St Mark's Armagh Zone, current holders, also game defeat by one shot against Westen Zone's Wellington. Cookstown High came through by a single shot against Donegal's Ballylennon which was followed by a comfortable win over Mid Antrim's 1st Ahoghill. In the semi final they defeated Sydenham from Belfast Zone while Wellington won their semio final against Latton. In the plate semi final, Cookstown Parochial and St Mark's, two clubs who have dominated the competition in recent years, saw Parochial gain a last end win while Ballylennon had a comfortable win over Pickie. Cookstown High played Wellington in the final and it took a 16 - 3 win by Malcolm Cunningham's rink to compensate for the loss of the other two rinks, to give the High their 3rd win in the competition. In the Plate final Parochial were taken to the final end before overcoming Ballylennon by 3 shots.


Day 2 of the Galway Bay Hotel saw the introduction of a new format to encourage smaller clubs to participate and it proved to be a success with bowling of a high quality and many close games. While Day 1 catered for teams of 12 in 3 rinks, Day 2 catered for 8 players in 2 rinks. The main competition saw Magilligan come out on top over with a semi final win over Ardstraw while St Coleman’s accounted for Drummond in their semi final. The final was not as close with Magilligan winning 22 - 13. In the Plate competition Finvoy had a narrow win over Mayne while 2nd Donegore accounted for Strabane Mourne. The final was a disappointing affair with 2nd Donegore taking the Plate.



Zones which wish to publish general information about developments / events in their area can be allocated a specific page on the site and contributions will be credited to those Convenors who forward it.

News From Cork

Conna Pairs Winners John Martin, Noeleen Tanner and

Club Captain Catherine O'Regan



Updated forms and information is in the Child Protection section .

Natalie Merrigan  representing the marketing department of the Galway Bay Hotel  with Seamus Kyne IIBA PRO.


Tournament resutts WILL NOT be published on the web site until the WINNER has returned the Champion of Champions form to the Competition Secretary. If details do not appear on the web site, winners will not have returned the form or if they have returned it and details do not appear on the web site, they MUST contact the Competition Secretary immediately. Only when the results appear on the web site will entry to the appropriate Champion of Champions competition be confirmed. Entries  can only be made for only ONE category.


Latest breaks from Galway Bay Hotel

DATES FOR 2017/18

Adobe Acrobat document [141.2 KB]

Tournaments 2017/18

Licenced Tournaments 2017-18.pdf
Adobe Acrobat document [243.1 KB]


Top Team Competition


The Top Team Competition played in Norfolk produced a suprising and rare win for England’s Representatives West Midlands over Oriel and Pembrokeshire.
West Midlands 67 points...
Oriel 39 points
Pembrokeshire 19 points


Cookstown High Irish Club Champions

Chris McKnight receives the Irish Club Championship Shield from

IIBA President Mrs Flo McNally

Print Print | Sitemap
© Irish Indoor Bowling Association